1 definition by Komoninos

Vojvodina is a autonomous province in northern Serbia, much more stable then Kosovo is (Kosovo is a Province in South Serbia, see definition of 'Kosovo'). Slavs settled Vojvodina in the 6th and 7th centuries, and in the 9th century, Salan and Glad, Bulgarian dukes ruled over the region, And in the 11th century was ruled by other dukes called Ahtum and Sermon. In 1283 the Serbian King, Stefan Dragutin ruled Vojvodina and then his son Vladislav II in 1316 and then the Hungarians did after Serbia was conquered by the Ottomen Empire. During the 1800s Vojvodina was absorbed into Austria-Hungary until then end of World War One when Austria-Hungary collapsed. on November 24 1918, the Assembly of Srem (a distict in Vojvodina) proclaimed the union of Srem with Serbia. And on November 25, the Assembly of Serbs, Bunjevci, and other nations of Vojvodina in Novi Sad proclaimed the union of Vojvodina (Banat, Baèka, and Baranja) with the Kingdom of Serbia. And then on December 1, 1918, Vojvodina bacame part of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes later named Yugosalvia in 1929, and then Serbia and Montenegro in 1992.
Vojvodina has many disticts which are:
West Baèka okrug
North Baèka okrug
South Baèka okrug
North Banat okrug
Central Banat okrug
South Banat okrug
Srem okrug
The Largest city of Vojvodina is Novi Sad.

There are many different ethnic groups in Vojvodina:
Majority Serb with 65%
And then Hungarian with 15%
And 20% is other which consists of:
Slovaks 2.79%
Croats 2.78%
Yugoslavs 2.45%
Montenegrins 1.75%
Romanians 1.50%
Macedonians 0.58%
Ukrainians 0.23%
by Komoninos October 6, 2005
Get the Vojvodina mug.