Top definition
1) Breton name of Brittany, one of the 6 celtic nations.
The languages spoken there are : Breton, Gallo and French.
Divided into nine countries ("bro(ioù)") : Bro-Gwened, Bro-Naoned, Bro-Roazhon, Bro-Zol, Bro-Sant-Maloù, Bro-Sant-Brieg, Bro-Gernev, Bro-Dreger and Bro-Leon

2) Breton name of the french region of Brittany. It's the same territory except that after the french revolution, the french began to completly disrespect breton people and their culture. They first divided it into 5 départements (Morbihan, Ille-et-Vilaine, Loire-Atlantique, Côte-d'Armor and Finistère), and after WWII they decided that Loire-Atlantique didn't belong to region of Brittany anymore..., Also, for many years they forbade Breton and Gallo languages. Now it's allowed to talk Breton or Gallo but those languages are not "officially acknowledged" and the whole breton culture is still disrespected/not even acknowledged. Some Bretons consider themselves as french, some say they're both french and breton and some don't want to be called french. So when somebody say they're Breton, telling things like "It's in France" or "So you're french" is quite offending, just like telling welsh they're english.

3)Brittany (The nation) is sometimes called Breizh in other languages than breton to differentiate it from the french region or, in english, to make the name easier to differenciate from britain. It can also be written Breizh or Breih. the diminutive form for "Breizh" is "Bzh".
1) the celtic nations are Breizh, Alba, Eire, Ellan Vannin, Cymru and Kernow.


- Where are you from?
- I am from Brittany
- Oh, Great Britain?
- No, Breizh
by Telenn Gwad February 16, 2013
Get the mug
Get a Breizh mug for your buddy Yasemin.
Breton name for the French region of Brittany.
The region known as Brittany (France) by English language speakers, is also known as Bretagne (in French, the official language) and Breizh (in Breton, the indigenous Celtic language).
by Twingle January 07, 2012
Get the mug
Get a Breizh mug for your fish Abdul.