1) A description of the State whose name is internationally recognised as Ireland.

2) The name of the association football (soccer) team which represents Ireland.

Ireland is a democratic republic; in 1948 the Government of Ireland declared that Ireland was a Republic. In consequence Ireland was expelled from the British Commonwealth as at that time it was not possible to be both a republic and a member of the Commonwealth. The rules changed when Britain withdrew from the Indian subcontinent and both Pakistan and India were allowed to become part of the Commonwealth as Republics.
The republic of Ireland was declared in 1948.
by Shmuel bin Yohanan July 19, 2011
Get the Republic of Ireland mug.
A country on the island of Ireland with the capital city being Dublin and having 4 provinces, Connaught, Munster, Lienster, and Ulster. It has 4 million citizens and over 30 million abroad. It is where leprechauns are from and St. Patrick lived there, but he wasn't born there. Alot of people there drink beer.
by Asumish April 14, 2015
Get the Republic of Ireland mug.