Top definition
The Office of Film and Literature Classification. The content-rating system used in Australia. Each video and computer game is given a classification before it is allowed to be sold.

The different classifications - or "ratings" are as follows:

G - General exhibition. Anyone can watch/play something with a G rating.

PG - Parental Guidance recommended. It is recommended that any person watching/playing something under the age of 15 should have a person over 18 supervising, if the content has a PG rating.

M15+ - Mature. It is recommended for people 15 years or older. Although people under 15 are allowed to watch/play it, it's not recommended.

MA15+ - Restricted to persons 15 years or older. Nobody under 15 is allowed to watch/play content with an MA15+ rating.

R18+ - Restricted to persons 15 years or older. No body under the age of 18 is allowed to watch content with an R rating. There is no R rating for computer games.

X18+ - A rare rating that is only ever used for pornographic films. No games can have an X18+ rating. It is illegal for someone under the age of 18 to view videos with an X rating.
Any content that does not fall into any of those categories is refused classification. Therefore, it is not legal for sale in Australia.

Due to the fact that there is no R rating for games, many adult-oriented games have been refused classification by the OFLC and some have had to have content removed to fit the MA15+ rating.

Some games that have been refused classification include: Postal, Postal 2, 50 Cent: Bulletproof , Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas (originally it had an MA15+ rating, but after the "Hot Coffee" scandal it was refused classification and later re-released) and Manhunt.
by David G. S. August 23, 2007
Get the mug
Get a OFLC mug for your coworker Jerry.