(US ECONOMY) One of the 12 district Federal Reserve Banks. Based in New York (2nd FR district). Along with members of the Federal Reserve Board, enjoys a permanent seat on the FOMC (other district banks only get to rotate).

Main job is to regulate banks and administer monetary policy through open market operations. Former New York Fed president Tim Geithner is now Secretary of the US Treasury Department (as of early 2009).
Prior to 1928, the President of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York was the de facto leader of the entire system. This was because of the powerful personality and connections of Benjamin Strong, a former J.P. Morgan partner.
by Abu Yahya September 10, 2010
Get the Federal Reserve Bank of New York mug.