Top definition
There are around 3,900 species of tailless amphibians, or Anura, also called Salientia, including the frog and toad.


saturalFrogs are members of the zoological class called Amphibia.
Amphibians are cold-blooded (or poikilothermic) vertebrate animals. They differ from reptiles in that they lack scales and generally return to water to breed.

They are one of three types of Amphibians. Anura, also called wide hipped skinny legs. Salientia, (frogs and toads), caudate (salamanders and newts) and caecilians (worm-like amphibians).

Herps and Herpetology
Amphibians together with reptiles make up a larger group called Herps. The study of reptiles and amphibians is called Herpetology. Herp comes from the Greek word herpeton, which basically means "creepy crawly things that move about on their bellies."
A herptile is an individual herp. A person who keeps and breeds herps is called a herpetoculturist and the hobby is called herpetoculture.

Round pupils: Some Satural frogs have round pupils just like you and me. Newts and Salamanders also have round pupils.

(2) Vertical pupils: Vertical pupils that look like a cats eye are really good for night vision and respond quickly to changes in light.

(3) Horizontal-Shaped pupils: These are the more common pupil, good for normal day-vision.

(4) Heart-Shaped pupils: I'm not sure if it serves any purpose, but it sure looks neat! Oriental fire-bellied Toads have this type of pupil.

Some frogs have Triangular pupils, and some even have Star-Shaped pupils
by mr J.R May 08, 2009
Get the mug
Get a SATURAL FROG mug for your cat Helena.