1 definition by Chirst the Savior

Top Definition
Stigmata consists of five classic points where wounds appear: the side, both hands and both feet. Traditionally these are known as the Five Wounds or the Sacred Wounds of our Lord, because they are the marks that occurred at the time of the Crucifixion. Some people are said to suffer the Passion of Christ which includes: the agony at Gethsemane (including the tears or sweating of blood); scourging; the crowning of thorns; beatings; the shoulder sound from carrying the Cross; and the Five Wounds inflicted during the Crucifixion itself.
Intense pain is caused by these wounds, which remains constant throughout the entire course of the stigmatism.
by Chirst the Savior February 26, 2004

Mug icon
Buy a Stigmata mug!