Nickname commonly used to describe the National League, one of two major divisions of Major League Baseball, as opposed to the American League, which can be referred to as the "junior circuit." (This is because the National league is much older- it was founded in 1876 while the American League wasn't founded until 1901.) It consists of sixteen teams: in the West division Los Angeles, (one of two franchises in the city) San Francisco, Arizona, Colorado, and San Diego; in the Central division St. Louis, Chicago, (one of two franchises in the city) Cincinnati, Pittsburgh, Houston, and Milwaukee; and in the East division Philadelphia, Florida, New York, (one of two franchises in the city) Atlanta and Washington. The nicknames for these teams are respectively the Dodgers, Giants, Diamondbacks, Rockies, Padres, Cardinals, Cubs, Reds, Pirates, Astros, Brewers, Phillies, Marlins, Mets, Braves, and Nationals. Notable players include San Francisco's Tim Lincecum, St. Louis' Albert Pujols, and Milwaukee's Prince Fielder.
In this year's All Star game in St. Louis, the senior circuit fell to the junior circuit 4 to 3.
by fan of baseball November 26, 2009
Get the senior circuit mug.