Subscribe English
look up any word, like basic bitch:
1) Belief in Allah & Muhammad
2) Pray 5 times a day facing Mecca
3) Giving of Alms (Tithing)
4) Fasting during Ramadan.
5) A Hajj (pilgrimage) to Mecca
It is every Muslims duty to carry out the Five Pillars of Islam.
by Paul Wall Da People's Champ October 07, 2009
1215 305
1) Iman (Faith) - "There is none worthy of worship except God and Muhammad is the messenger of God."

2) Salah (Prayer) - Salah is the name for the prayers that are performed 5 times a day, and are a direct link between the worshiper and God.

3) Zakah (Almsgiving) - An important principle of Islam is that everything belongs to God, and that wealth is therefore held by human beings in trust. The word "Zakah" means both "purification" and "growth."

4) Sawm (Fasting) - Every year in the month of "Ramadan," all able Muslims fast from dawn until sundown; abstaining from food, drink, and sexual relations with their spouses. Muslims fast for the pleasure of Allah. There are also a lot of charitable deeds. Muslims may feed a needy neighbor, feed the poor, etc. It sets them on a spiritual level because they are unable to eat or drink. So by fasting, they are not only pleasing Allah, but can also obtain a feel for people less fortunate than their selves.

5) Hajj (Pilgrimage) - The pilgrimage to Makkah (also spelled Mecca); the hajj; is an obligation only for those physically able to do so. Even so, over 2 million people perform a pilgrimage to Makkah each year from every corner of the globe. After a Muslim has carried out their pilgrimage, they have taken a step closer to God by visiting His house, the first house of worship on Earth.
The five pillars of Islam are the foundation of Muslim life: faith or belief in the Oneness of God and the finality of the prophethood of Muhammad; establishment of the daily ritual prayers; self-purification through fasting; and the pilgrimage to Makkah for those who are physically and financially able to go.
by World_Religions May 07, 2010
424 112