Top Definition
(SHOH-guh-nate) The government of medieval Japan in which the Shogun, a military and civil regent, served as the actual leader, while the emperor was the symbolic head of the state and religion. There were three shogunates throughout Japanese history - 1) the Kamakura Shogunate (1192–1333), 2) the Ashikaga Shogunate (1336–1573), and 3) the Tokugawa Shogunate (1603–1868).
Governor → Government
Shogun → Shogunate
Caliph → Caliphate
Sultan → Sultanate
by ♫ Highway to Hell ♫ July 06, 2011

Free Daily Email

Type your email address below to get our free Urban Word of the Day every morning!

Emails are sent from We'll never spam you.