Top Definition
Seven basic human vices that, when taken in excess, can be percieved as evil, and potentially injure or kill the person indulging in said vices, or anyone around him/her.

Lust: The obsession with personal gratification and/or pleasure. This does not have to be sexual, but it usually is.

Wrath: Different from Anger, Wrath is the uncontrolled hatred for someone or something, and the unquenchable desire to exact revenge on said object/person. The wrathful person feels he *must* seek retribution on the focus of his anger, and is usually so consumed by his rage, that they usually cannot calm down after their revenge is complete.

Greed: The tendency to want more than you need. This can be wealth, power, sexual gratification (see Lust), etc. Usually, greedy people seek to add to their collection, through any way possible, and with no regard to others. It doesn't matter if others need the money, power, etc. to survive; If the greedy person sees it, he/she will do anything to acquire it.

Sloth: Extreme laziness. Slothful people feel that everything should be done for them, and will refuse to do anything for themselves. Such people would usually not get a job, even if they need to; sleep for most of the day, and then lounge around for the rest of it; etc. They have no desire to do anything that would require any ammount of effort or work, and would usually pass off those responsibilities to other people.

Envy: Having an unusual interest in another's abilities, personality, luck, etc., and an unusually strong jealousy towards said person, because of those traits. This causes the envious person to copy the object of their envy, and/or trying everything they can to acquire what the object of their envy has.

Gluttony: Similar to Greed, it is the consumption of something to excess. Instead of merely acquiring the object, it is absorbed and depleted, usually until there is nothing left. Usually used in reference to the consumption of food, it can also be used to describe the consumption of a natural resorce, funds, charity, etc., until there is nothing left for use, usually denying others from using that same resorce.

Pride: Interchangable with Vanity, Pride is the overexaggerating of one's abilities or accomplishments. Prideful people usually inflate their own worth far over what it should be, and in the process, overinflate their egos, as well. They tend to act high-and-mighty, and consider themselves of far more importance to people than they really are.
Lust is wanting to screw everything that moves, at all hours of the day.

Greed is also known as Bill Gates.

Envy is wanting your best friend's boyfriend, even though he hates your guts, and trying to seduce him, anyway.

Wrath is killing a cop, because he gave you a ticket on a bad day of yours.

Sloth is living in your parents basement, still paying video games, when you're 45.

Pride is better known as the Bush Administration.

Gluttony is better known as Bill Gates at the local supermarket's snack aisle.
by SynjoDeonecros July 13, 2004
1. Windows
2. Word
3. Excel
4. Power Point
5. Access
6. Outlook Express
7. Internet Explorer
by pablito August 14, 2003
2 Wrath
3 Lust
4 Sloth
5 Gluttony
6 Greed
7 Envy
Every sin is rooted from the first sin commited in universe: Pride. Satan was so proud of himself being the strongest angel, he thought he could rebel against God.
by nikkan_hanil July 01, 2004
Also known as 'the seven cardinal sins', the seven deadly sins are lust, gluttony, envy, sloth, pride, wrath, and greed.

Lust is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.
Gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires.
Envy is the desire for others' traits, status, abilities, or situation.
Sloth is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work.
Pride is excessive belief in one's own abilities, that interferes with the individual's recognition of the grace of God. It has been called the sin from which all others arise. Pride is also known as Vanity.
Anger/Wrath is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury.
Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain, ignoring the realm of the spiritual. It is also called Avarice or Covetousness.
The seven cardinal sins are also the names of each of the seven separate Homunculus in the anime/manga series, Fullmetal Alchemist.
by silh0uette December 04, 2004
Pride, envy, anger, sloth, greed, gluttony, and lust. Seven acts of human nature. That fact supports the philosophically acceptable belief that said sins only become sin when largely overindulged in. Extreme overindulgence of which are the results of stupidity and can in fact lead to death.
Devotee: So you mean Father that I can do all those things as long as I think and use my head?

Oh So Holy One: Yes son, just be sure and wash your hair afterwards.
by Reverend Chaos September 03, 2003
LUST - wanting sex. Like every normal person.
GLUTTONY - Wanting to eat.
PRIDE - Having confidence.
ANGER - Being upset if someone say, steals your car, rapes your life and kills your family.
GREED - Not wanting to be poor.
ENVY - Thinking that someone looks good, and you wouldn' mind that top.
SLOTH - Wanting to relax.
You're all goingt o go to heel, and i'm not, ima "Christian", I belive that god loves everyone, well except sinners, lesbians, gays, left wingers, the poor, feminists, Jews, Musilms, infact all other religions, environmentalists, people who have fun, anti capitalists, anarchists, and goths.
by Father Bigot August 07, 2003
Free Daily Email

Type your email address below to get our free Urban Word of the Day every morning!

Emails are sent from We'll never spam you.